A 50-Something Orphan

I am a 50- something orphan!  I lost my dad in 2009 and my mom 2 years later.  It’s funny how grief works.  One would think that things would get easier as time goes by, but it doesn’t, not really.  The oddest thing can trigger memories that make me cry.

When I was 10 years old I had a birthday cake with little plastic ballerinas on top.  My mom saved those ballerinas and for the next 40 plus years they would be on the birthday cakes she made for me, right there dancing among the candles.  Another birthday is on the horizon for me and suddenly I am thinking of those ballerinas.  Did I remember to keep them when I was sorting through all of my parent’s earthly possessions?  I cannot imagine I would have thrown them out.  I am certain they are somewhere in my kitchen, at least I hope so.   

Thinking of this made me cry, but at the same time this memory reminded me of the love my parents always had for me, unconditionally and forever.  Memories like this are something I can hold on to and cherish for the rest of my life.  

Author: Camille Hay Erard

Please Leave a Reply